A full xix years after their last effort — 2013’s Gamel — Japanese experimental outfit OOIOO are back with a new record, Nijimusi, out January 17.
The band, featuring Boredoms’ percussionist/guitarist/vocalist YoshimiO, were founded in 1995 as a collective of “musicians who move freely between the audible and inaudible, rhythm and non-rhythm, noise and silence,” according to their label, Thrill Jockey. The first taste of Nijimusi, “kawasemi Ah,” suggests a free-wheeling, psychedelic sound, which is my kind of happening, baby, and it freaks me out!
The album, created after the addition of Mishina on drums in 2016, is described as “a reflection of the sounds resonating from OOIOO while as they were completely present in the moment. The sounds are like the cries emanating from a creature called OOIOO, proof that it is a living, breathing being.” Hear for yourself, with “kawasemi Ah” streaming below, and pre-order the full album from Thrill Jockey here.
Nijimusi by OOIOO

Nijimusi tracklisting:
01. nijimusi
02. nijimu
03. jibun
04. tisou
05. asozan5
06. bulun
07. walk for “345” minutes, while saying “Ah Yeah!” with a “Mountain Book”
in one hand, until a shower of light pours down
08. kawasemi Ah

Check out the article